top of page

Wisdom in the Arts

When Elly and I found out we were about to have our first child, we immediately knew we wanted to have a name for him that meant something. I mean, you are speaking that over the child every day, it helps them find strength in their identity.

So I just could not get this guy in Exodus out of my head. No…It wasn’t Moses or Joshua. It was Bezalel. Depending on which translation you are reading, they spell it different ways. I was like, “There is no way I am going to name my kid Bezalel and have him get beaten up every day of his academic life.” So we took the “zalel” part, switched the last “l” with and “n”, and named him Zalen. So what is tied to this name? Bezalel was chosen to build the tabernacle for Moses, and this is how he was described.

Exodus 35 says, “The Lord has specifically chosen Bezalel son of Uri, grandson of Hur, of the tribe of Judah. 31 The Lord has filled Bezalel with the Spirit of God, giving him great wisdom, ability, and expertise in all kinds of crafts. 32 He is a master craftsman, expert in working with gold, silver, and bronze. 33 He is skilled in engraving and mounting gemstones and in carving wood. He is a master at every craft. 34 And the Lordhas given both him and Oholiab son of Ahisamach, of the tribe of Dan, the ability to teach their skills to others. 35 The Lord has given them special skills as engravers, designers, embroiderers in blue, purple, and scarlet thread on fine linen cloth, and weavers. They excel as craftsmen and as designers."

I am especially drawn to about three parts of this description of Bezalel.

1. He is the first to be mentioned as being filled with the Spirit of God! He isn’t a preacher or prophet. He is a market place person, a tradesman.

2. He isn’t just given the ability to do the arts, but also the ability to teach others.

3. This is the one I especially like: He isn’t just given ability in the arts, he is given wisdom in the arts.

Wisdom & Creativity

I think a lot of times people think of the arts as those left-brained people who are all poetic. But the intent is that creativity is supposed to have wisdom attached to it. Even the arts are intended to accomplish something.

Proverbs 3:19 says, "By wisdom the LORD founded the earth; by understanding he created the heavens.” They were made by wisdom and understanding. So the two go hand in hand.

I will be the first to tell you that when I see art with no purpose, it bothers me. As a musician I will describe it like this. I often hear great songs with some cool sound in the background, if I don’t feel like that sound facilitates where the song is going, it cheapens the song for me. On the other hand, I can hear very basic songs with simple lines. If those simple moves facilitate the songs, it moves me so much.

It’s what the psalmist means when he says to “prophesy with the instruments.” If you have ever heard people prophesy, you know the difference between something that seems nice and when the Spirit is definitely giving weight to a word.

So, worshipers, when you put your sets together this week, what is your purpose. What are you creating? Use wisdom. If you know people need some joy, pick songs and give off the vibe of joy. If you know people are needing to know Him more as the King, choose songs that facilitate that. But be wise and build something through your worship time because He establishes His throne on the praises of His people. What we praise Him for, is what we start seeing manifest.

It is through the arts that the tabernacle was made. You are doing more with your art for God than you can even believe.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • YouTube Classic
bottom of page